Psychology Academic Excellence Rewarded With Department of Education Fellowships

Four graduate students in the School of Psychology have been selected as spring and summer 2022 fellows in the Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need (GAANN) Program, funded by the U.S. Department of Education.

The GAANN program is designed to provide fellowships, through academic departments and programs of institutions of higher education, “to assist graduate students with excellent records who demonstrate financial need and plan to pursue the highest degree available in their course study at the institution in a field designated as an area of national need.”

Within the College of Sciences, GAANN Fellowships are also offered in Biochemistry and Biophysics programs, as well as in the School of Biological Sciences.

“The GAANN program helps the School of Psychology recruit and retain students from underrepresented groups, thus enriching our program and profession,” says Richard Catrambone, professor in the School of Psychology and the College of Computing, who leads the program. “The current recipients reflect our strong base of graduate students.”

These fellows will have GAANN funds for the 2022 spring and summer semesters:

Spencer C. Garcia
Industrial-Organizational Psychology
Graduate student and teaching assistant

Emily Gleaton
Problem Solving and Educational Technology Lab

Engineering Psychology 
Graduate student and teaching assistant

Paulina Maxim
Cognition and Brain Science
Graduate research assistant 

Lucas E. Provine
Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Graduate student and teaching assistant

In the fall of 2021, the School of Psychology was awarded approximately $1 million in Department of Education funds for GAANN fellowships. Catrambone led a team of five other colleagues to write the proposal that resulted in the funding. Other members of the team are Bruce Walker, professor; Keaton Fletcher and Kimberly French, assistant professors; and Jamie Gorman and Christopher Wiese, associate professors.

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • Balloons

  • Emily Gleaton

  • Spencer Garcia

  • Paulina Maxim

  • Lucas Provine

For More Information Contact

Renay San Miguel
Communications Officer II/Science Writer
College of Sciences