Outstanding Students Honored at Annual Celebration

May 10, 2022

As the academic year nears its end, a season of celebration begins. Several students were recognized for excellence this year at the annual Student Honors Celebration on Thursday, April 21. See photos from the event on Flickr.

The following students were recognized at this year's event:

College of Computing

Donald V. Jackson Fellowship
Shoale Badr, Lohith Burra, Raj Sanjay Shah

Marshall D. Williamson Fellowship
Cole Anderson, Tricia Dang, Abrahim Ladha, Pengda Xie

Outstanding Graduate Head Teaching Assistant Award
Rusty Otomo

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award
Sam Jijina

Outstanding Undergraduate Head Teaching Assistant Award
Mitchell Gacuzana

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Award
Anthony Zheng


Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts

History and Sociology

The Bellon Award
Katie Marchese and Yihua Xu

Modern Languages

Excellence in Applied Languages and Intercultural Studies (ALIS) Award
Ella Tiller

International Affairs

International Affairs Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year
Amelia Rousseau

International Affairs Online Teaching Assistant of the Year
Leslie Dwolatzky

International Affairs Outstanding Graduate Student Award
Brian Stewart

International Affairs Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award
Samuel Ellis


Outstanding Economics Student Award
Samantha Cameron

Public Policy

Outstanding Public Policy Undergraduate Student Award
Archa Amin, Kathryn Earles, Adam Lederer


College of Design

AIA Medal for Academic Excellence
Weston Byerly and Monica Rizk

AICP Outstanding Student Award
Freyja Brandel-Tanis

Alpha Rho Chi Medal
AnLi French

Industrial Designers Society of America Student Merit Award
Sophia De Lurgio

John and Joyce Caddell Student Merit Award
Blaine Allen and Naomi Censullo

Kim Scott Logan Award
Mir Jeffres

Stanley, Love-Stanley, P.C. Award
Breanna Rhoden and Christian Waweru


Scheller College of Business

Dow Chemical-P.C. McCutcheon Prize for Outstanding Student Achievement in Business
Cindy Qiu

Jennifer R. and Charles B. Rewis Award for Student Excellence in Accounting
Katherine Fishman and Vicky Yang

John R. Battle Award for Student Excellence
Ben Barnett and Kara Pomerantz

Naresh K. Malhotra Scholarship for Marketing Research
Clara McKay


College of Sciences

A. Joyce Nickelson and John C. Sutherland Prize
Sarah Eisenstadt

Cynthia L. Bossart and James Efron Scholarship
Sena Ghobadi

Larry S. O’Hara Fellowship
Jason Tsukahara, Youngho Yoo, Pedro Marquez Zacarias

Mehta Phingbodhipakkiya Undergraduate Memorial Scholarship
Nabojeet Das

Roger M. Wartell, Ph.D., and Stephen E. Brossette, M.D., Ph.D. Award for Multidisciplinary Studies in Biology, Physics, and Mathematics
Lila Nassar

Virginia C. and Herschel V. Clanton Jr. Scholarship
Griffin Wagner

College-Wide Award

Robert A. Pierotti Memorial Scholarship
Holly McCann and Soham Kulkarni


College of Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering Outstanding Senior Scholar Award
Anonto Zaman

Donnell W. Dutton Outstanding Senior in Aerospace Engineering Award
Stacey Tian

Biomedical Engineering

G.D. Jain Outstanding Senior in Biomedical Engineering Award
Kevin McCoy

Outstanding Academic Achievement in Biomedical Engineering Award
Adith Srivasta

S.K. Jain Outstanding Research Award in Biomedical Engineering
Mary Kate Gale

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Chair’s Award — Outstanding Chemical and Biomolecular Junior
Ethan Guglielmo

Chair’s Award — Outstanding Chemical and Biomolecular Senior
Christina Whetzel

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Buck Stith Outstanding Junior Award in Civil Engineering
Anthony Sanseverino

Buck Stith Outstanding Junior Award in Environmental Engineering
Aidan Labrozzi

Buck Stith Outstanding Senior Award in Civil and Environmental Engineering
Zoe Zhang

School Chair’s Outstanding Senior Award in Civil Engineering
Thomas Papageorge

School Chair’s Outstanding Senior Award in Environmental Engineering
Johanna Hall

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical and Computer Engineering Undergraduate Research Award
Pradyot Yadav

Outstanding Computer Engineering Senior Award
Zachary Olkin

Outstanding Electrical Engineering Senior Award
Katherine Roberts

Industrial and Systems Engineering

Alpha Pi Mu Academic Excellence Award
Oscar Aguilar and Xufei Liu

Evelyn Pennington Outstanding Service Award
Hung Doan and Duncan Siebert

Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers Excellence in Leadership Award
Dany Shwayri

Materials Science and Engineering

American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC) Student Chapter Award for Graduating Senior
Alp Kulaksizoglu

School of Materials Science and Engineering Outstanding Senior Award
Alp Kulaksizoglu and Matthew Kuner

Mechanical Engineering

George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering Outstanding Scholar Award
Andrew Galassi

George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering School Chair’s Award
Joseph Stein

Richard K. Whitehead Jr. Memorial Awards
Julia Binegar, Blake Castleman, Sarah Chen, William Compton, Rebekah Travis

Nuclear and Radiological Engineering

Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Award — Nuclear and Radiological Engineering Program, School of Mechanical Engineering
MaryEmma Hughes

College-Wide Awards

College of Engineering (COE) Honors Awards
Evan Beckley, Denzel Carter, Eliezer Zavala Gonzalez, Zhiyi Li, Matthew Liu,
Bain McHale, Kristina Malinowski, Jana Shade, Taryn Trigler, Sophia Ung, Nick Vu

Davidson Family Tau Beta Pi Senior Engineering Award
Zachary Olkin


Institute Awards

Alvin M. Ferst Leadership and Entrepreneur Scholarship Award
Adam Lederer and Chris Ozgo

Naugle Communication Center Assistant of the Year Award
Jose Miranda-Hernandez

Georgia Tech Faculty Women’s Club Scholarships
Alexander Emelianov, Kelly Haas, Ben Howard, Parth Parashar, Shiloh Emma Thomas-Wilkinson

Jordan Lockwood Peer Tutor of the Year Award
Emily Nguyen and Raneem Rizvi

Outstanding Learning Assistant Award
Aboubacar Barrie

Outstanding PLUS Leader Award
Jerry Schweiger

Outstanding Student Assistant Award
Vivi Tran

Outstanding Tutor Award
Raymond Copeland

Provost’s Academic Excellence Award
Kathryn Earles, Jocelyn Kavanagh, Emily Salmond, Conner Yurkon

Love Family Foundation Award
Yashvardhan Tomar

For More Information Contact