School of Psychology March 27, 2018 Faculty Meeting Minutes

Attendees:

Faculty Staff/Student Rep Guests

Frank Durso Leslie Dionne White Dianna Billingsley
Jim Roberts David Martinez Austin Crisman

Dan Spieler
Susan Embretson
Mary Holder
Rick Thomas
Bruce Walker
Randy Engel

Richard Catrambone

Chris Hertzog Kimberly French Paul Verhaeghen Thackery Brown Jamie Gorman

Announcements:

- Gina Bufton and Sidni Vaughn have been nominated for the CTL TA of the Year Award.
- Joel Mumma is a 2018 Larry S. O'Hara Fellowship Recipient for Outstanding Graduate Work. This award is made to top graduate students in the College of Sciences.
- Sara Brockmeier won the Metha Phingbodhipakkiya Memorial Scholarship awarded to "a person who, along with a
 demonstrated interest in pursuing a career in the sciences, has significant leadership potential, initiative and an
 outstanding record of extracurricular or community involvement and achievement.
- Audrey Duarte is soliciting nominations for several awards, including a nomination for outstanding senior female undergraduate.
- Current grad student recruitment numbers: 8 have accepted, 4 have declined. Frank Durso expressed his appreciation for Shebbie Murray's efforts in managing this year's recruitment efforts

Agenda

Textbooks: Dianna Billingsley from the GT Barnes and Noble Bookstore provided information on their textbook program and its benefits, describing their "Faculty Enlight" program. More information can be found at https://www.facultyenlight.com/?storeNbr=225#view-faq

Diversity: Paul Verhaeghen gave a presentation on the COS Diversity committee, with updates on the suggestions made for creating a Best Practices document for the College.

Masters and Special Programs – Tabled due to lack of time

New Business

Engineering Psychology: Richard Catrambone announced that EP will soon be down to less than three faculty, inviting discussion on faculty support for the Engineering Psychology going forward.